Cost of a DWI Conviction in Texas

In addition to the criminal fines and penalties, if you are convicted of Driving While Intoxicated in Houston, Texas, you will likely have to pay for bail (to get out of jail), have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle, and towing charges because your car will likely be impounded.

If convicted there will also be Driver’s License Surcharges (these surcharges may be waived if you are found indigent Tex. Transp. Code § 708.102 & § 701.158) for 3 years after the conviction, consisting of:
• DWI 1st Offense: $1,000
• DWI Subsequent Offense: $1,500
• DWI with BAC of .16 or higher $2,000

Additionally, your insurance rates can triple after a DWI conviction.

You may also have to pay probation fees for 2 years:
• Up to $60/month probation fees for 2 years (Art. 42.12 § 19 Tex. Code Crim. Proc.)
• Criminal Fines as high as $2,000
• Court Costs up to $500
• Cost of attending alcohol counseling / treatment
• Possible cost of installing an Ignition Interock Device during any probation period (if BAC was .16 or higher)

Total Cost: Anywhere between $5,000 and $50,000 (this is an estimate)

The Cost of a DWI Conviction is a post from DUI Lawyer Houston

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Drunk Driving Conviction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s